Akeredolu urges interested Ondo political office holders to resign - Saga Gist - Top Source for Nigeria News


Saturday, September 15

Akeredolu urges interested Ondo political office holders to resign

Ahead of the 2019 general election, the Ondo state governor, Mr Rotimi Akeredolu, on Saturday, directed members of his cabinet interested in contesting any position to tender their resignation letter.

Apart from members of the State Executive Council, all political appointees who have also obtained nomination forms have also been advised to submit their resignation letter on or before tomorrow, Monday, 17th September 2018.

The directive was contained in a circular issued and signed by the Chief of Staff to the governor, Chief Gbenga Ale, directing all political appointees and political office holders to resign with immediate effect.

Akeredolu expressed his appreciation to the members for their contributions and services towards the development of the state in the last 18 months of his administration in the state.

The circular stated in part: “Following preparations towards the 2019 general elections and subsequent expression of interest of some Executive Council members to contest for political offices, Mr. Governor has directed that any member who has obtained nomination form to contest election into any political office is to put in his/her letter of resignation on or before Monday, 17th September 2018.”

“All Executive Council members are enjoined to take note of the circular for compliance.

Some of the Executive member of Akeredolu’s cabinet who have obtained nomination form included, Commissioner for Housing, Donald Ojogo, Commissioner for Commerce and Industry, Timehin Adelegbe, Commissioner for Agriculture, Gboyega Adefarati and State Commissioner for Women’s affairs, Olawunmi Olatunji.

Others political appointee of the governor who have also obtained forms included Victor Olabimtan, Austin Pelemo and Jibayo Adeleye.

The four commissioners are eyeing the House of Representatives ticket for their various federal constituency.