APC members defect to PDP in Enugu


Scores of All Progressives Congress (APC) members in Enugu West Senatorial Zone on Sunday defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in support of its guber candidate, Barr. Peter Mbah.

The APC members set their brooms ablaze while embracing the PDP at the endorsement rally organised at the zone.

They described PDP as Enugu’s only hope for good governance.

The five local government areas that make up Enugu West Senatorial Zone are Aninri, Awgu, Ezeagu, Oji River and Udi.

The defectors, who were led by a former acting Chairman of the APC in the state, Mr Gilbert Chikwado-Chukwu, declared their rejection of the APC, calling their action historic and the triumph of light and hope.

Chikwado-Chukwu, who spoke on behalf of others, said they decided to join the ruling party because of the good governance and massive infrastructure the state was enjoying under the party.

Receiving the former APC members to the PDP and handing over the umbrella to them, the chairman of the party in the state, Augustine Nnamani lauded them for taking the right step and assured that the PDP would give them all the privileges being enjoyed by members.

Post a Comment