Press Club MAPOLY wins top journalism award in Abuja

The Press Club of Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta (MAPOLY) over the weekend won the Best Press Club Award at the 2018 Campus Journalism Awards held in the nation's capital, Abuja. 

Press Club MAPOLY scooped the award for being the campus press organisation with the "most effective and engaging media platforms" among all other press organisations in the country.

Former President of the association, Ifedayo Ogunyemi also emerged finalist in the The maiden edition of the award which was organised by Youth Digest saw campus journalists from various tertiary institutions in the country converge on Abuja. The theme of the award is, "Curbing Hate Speech on Social Media. "

Chairman of the event,  Femi Adesina who is the Special Adviser on Media to the Presidency said the time is right for Nigeria to look at ways to curb the menace of hate speech now that the country looks to elect a new set of leaders at the 2019 General Elections. 

Adesina appealed to the political class to learn from the evil that befell some countries as a result of hate speech which created tension and civil disturbances.

He appealed that Nigerians must check and guard personal utterances, especially unsubstantiated allegations capable of provoking misunderstanding among various groups and political class.

Publisher of Premium Times, Dapo Olorunyomi, in his keynote address appealed to owners of online media to uphold credibility and integrity, adding that all process leading to news gathering, and dissemination must be made credible, accurate and truthful.

He revealed that his organization is already working with other established media outfits in the country to check hate speech reports among them.

Editor of Youths Digest magazine, Gidado Yushau Shuaib said that the award was instituted to encourage young journalists to spread message of love, peace and harmony through their communication skills.

“The award is aimed at acknowledging, recognising, celebrating and motivating student journalists, young writers, press clubs and campus media outlets," Shuaib said. 

Olufemi Alfred of Obafemi Awolowo University who had scooped the Best Editor Award (online)  also emerged overall winner of the year campus journalism award. Kabir Adejumo and Faith Okerinmodun of OAU also bagged the awards of the Best Investigative Journalist of the Year and News Reporter (print) of the Year respectively.

Fatima Abdullahi from Ahmadu Bello University won the Upcoming Writer award; Janet Akor from Adekunle Ajasin University won the Entertainment Writer Award; Temitope Akinmoladun from Federal University of Technology, Azure won the Sports Writer Award;  Jameela Abdussalam won the Gender Equality Award; Gift Jimoh won the Broadcaster Award. 

Joshua Alao from the University of Ibadan won the News Reporter (online) Award; Yusuf Mohammed of International Institute of Journalism,  Abuja won the Photo-Journalist Award,  Usman Muhammad of Bayero University won the Videographer Award; Ibrahim Adeyemi from Usmanu Danfodio University  won the Essayist Award; Goodluck Ekere of Covenant University won the Author Award; Adnan Mukhtar of North-West University won the Social Media Influencer Award; Haleem Olatunji of University of Ibadan won the Features Writer Award (online).

Joseph Ekpali of University of Nigeria,Nsukka wo. The Features Writer Award (print); Eric Msughter of Bayero University won the Syndicated Writer Award; Olasunkanmi Oso won the Editor Award (print) while Scoop Magazine and Campus Connect won the Magazine Awards for print and online categories respectively. 

Apart from 20 students who were honoured with different categories of the award, the Publisher of Premium Times Dapo Olorunyomi and Managing Editor (North) of the Nation newspaper, Mallam Yusuf Alli were honoured for their contributions to campus journalism and investigative reporting in Nigeria.

The conference was attended by former Director Defence Information (DDI), Major General Chris Olukolade (rtd), former Chairman, Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters, Senator Umar Dahiru Tambuwal among others.

Post a Comment