FA Cup: It was handball - Tuchel gives verdict on refereeing decision after Chelsea defeat to Leicester


Chelsea boss, Thomas Tuchel, has given his verdict on the refereeing decision following his side’s FA Cup final 1-0 defeat against Leicester City on Saturday.

Tuchel said that luck was not on Chelsea’s side after they lost their second consecutive FA Cup final against Leicester at Wembley Stadium.

Leicester City defeated Chelsea at Wembley Stadium to win their first FA Cup trophy thanks to Youri Tielemans’s only goal of the match.

After the defeat to Arsenal last August in the 2019/2020 FA Cup final, it was a similar story as fine margins defined the outcome of Chelsea’s clash with Leicester.

In the build-up to Leicester’s goal, the ball rebounded onto Ayoze Perez’ hand from his knee, and he was not penalised as Tielemans’s shot flew into the top corner moments later.

Chelsea’s goal in the 89th minute, which they thought had brought the game level, was ruled out for offside.

“I didn’t see it. My assistant saw it on the screen on the bench and the players said straight away that it was a handball. Now for the second time. There was a handball against Arsenal who denied a goal on the goal-line against us and VAR is not interfering.

“Today again with the goal, very decisive. Arsenal denied a goal against us, today they scored a goal. If it touched hand… I am not an expert in handball, honestly, anymore. I don’t absolutely know when it is hand and when it is not.

“So you need a little bit of luck in these decisions. I did not see it, so I cannot comment and give my opinion. My opinion anyway is not relevant because I don’t know anymore when they need to punish it and when it is ok to play with the hand,” Tuchel said at his post-match press conference after the game.

Post a Comment