OYSIEC declares PDP winner in 32 councils as Oyo holds local government elections


The Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC) on Sunday declared candidates of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winners of the just concluded local government election in 32 local government areas of the state.

Saga Gist reports that the election took place in 33 local government areas on Saturday.

The Commission also rescheduled the election held in Ido local government area of the state.

The election, which will now hold on May 26, 2021, was rescheduled over the omission of the Zenith Labour Party’s logo on the ballot papers.

LG election: OYSIEC suspends election in Ido over the omission of ZLP logo – Daily Post Nigeria

The OYSIE, however, declared PDP, the winner of the election in all the 32 local government area, where the election was held.

Saga Gist reports that PDP is the ruling political party in the state.

Chairman OYSIEC, Isiaka Olagunju, who announced the results on Sunday, said the PDP won all the Chairmanship positions in the 32 Local Government Areas.

He added that the Commission also suspended election at Ibarapa East, Ward 5 and Ward 7, Polling Unit 3 indefinitely over cases of violence.

Olagunju said the Commission received reports from the Presiding Officer and Electoral Officer that the election was disrupted.

Post a Comment