Yoruba nation: Tinubu, Gbaja, Akande, APC governors disagree with Sunday Igboho


Some leaders of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the South West have disagreed with Sunday Adeyemo (Sunday Igboho) on his call for the Yoruba nation.

The leaders include Bola Tinubu, Bisi Akande, Segun Osoba, Governors Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun), Gboyega Oyetola (Osun), Speaker, House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila.

The leaders met on Sunday at the Government House, Marina, Lagos to deliberate on issues of insecurity facing the region and Nigeria at large, Gov Abiodun had said.

A statement released after the meeting informed that the APC leaders expressed “strong opposition to separatist agitations and hate speeches.”

Saga Gist reports that Sunday Igboho has been a leading voice on the agitation for the Oduduwa Republic, as he led his teeming supporters to Akure, the Ondo State capital on Saturday for a rally.

Recall also that Igboho had been criticised on many occasions for making inciting comments against perceived enemies of his struggle for the Yoruba nation.

The APC leaders, making a veiled reference to Sunday Igboho and his co-travellers, urged “those indulging in separatist agitations to desist forthwith,” asking them to “renew their belief in the unity, stability and sustainability of the country.”

In a statement on his verified Facebook page, Gov Abiodun said, “Resolutions reached at the crucial meeting expressed reservations on separatist agitations, solicited sustained provision of expenditure to the Nigerian Army, sought true federalism for even development, and endorsed the resolutions of the May 11 Southern Governors Summit held in Asaba.”

Post a Comment