2023: Five APC aspirants battling for Oyo North senatorial district ticket


No fewer than five aspirants on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC), have indicated interest to represent Oyo North senatorial district in the National Assembly.

It was gathered that the aspirants purchased the nomination and expression of interest forms and have been screened by the party few days ago in Abuja.

Oyo North is made up of thirteen local government areas of Nigeria.

The local government areas include 10 in Oke Ogun geopolitical zone and 3 from Ogbomoso geopolitical zone.

Five people have represented the district since the beginning of the fourth republic in 1999.

Those who have served as senators in the zone included Senator Brimoh Yusuf (1999-2003 AD), Senator Robert Koleoso (2003-2007 PDP), Senator Gbenga Babalola (2007-2011 PDP), Senator Hosea Agboola (2011-2015 PDP) and Senator Abdulfatai Buhari (2015-till date).

Those who have purchased the forms and are currently struggling to secure the ticket of the party include the current occupant of the seat, Senator Abdulfatai Buhari and Hon. Shina Abiola Peller, who is currently representing Iseyin/ Itesiwaju/ Kajola/ Itesiwaju Federal constituency.

Others are Hon. Saheed Yusuf Adejare, Hon. Sola Ogunbode and Mrs. Adebola Adeboyin.

The aspirants have been moving from Ogbomoso to Saki to Iseyin and other major towns and villages in the district to seek support of the members ahead of the primary election.

The senatorial primary election of the party has been slated to hold on Friday, 27th May 2022.

Post a Comment