Assembly, Reps primaries: PDP flagbearers emerge in Akwa Ibom


The candidates that would fly the flag of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, for the state House of Assembly and the Federal House of Representatives during the 2023 elections in Akwa Ibom State have emerged.

This was revealed at the end of the party’s primary elections held across the state on Sunday.

In the House of Representatives, Mr Ime Okon, a former member of the House of Assembly polled all the 62 votes to represent Ibiono/Itu Federal Constituency.

The immediate past Commissioner for Special Duties, Okpolupm Etteh would fly the flag for Eket, Esit Eket, Onna and Ibeno Federal Constituency.

The present House of Assembly member for Nsit Atai, Mr Mark Esset won to represent Uyo, Nsit Atai, Ibesikpo Asutan, Uruan Federal Constituency.

Also the immediate past Commissioner for Agriculture, Glory Edet will represent Ikono/Ini Federal Constituency.

Others who emerged include; Mr Unyime Idem for Ukanafun/ Oruk Anam Federal Constituency.

Idongesit Ntekpere for Ikot Ekpene/Obot Akara/ Essien Udim Federal Constituency.

The current House of Reps member for Abak/ Etim Ekpo/ Ika, Mr Aniekan Umanah clinched the party’s ticket to represent the Constituency for the second time.

The immediate past PDP chairman, Obong Paul Ekpo emerged victorious to represent Etinan/ Nsit Ubium/ Nsit Ibom Federal Constituency.

Also, for the state House of Assembly, the immediate past Commissioner for Trade and Investment, Prince Akpabio polled all the votes for Essien Udim,

Udeme Otong won for Abak, Udofia Friday Udobia for Esit Eket/Ibeno, Eric Akpan for Nsit Ibom, Mfon Idung for Etim Ekpo/Ika and Uwemedimo Asuquo for Uyo.

Others include Godwin Ekpo for Ibiono Ibom state assembly, Jerry Otu for Ikot Ekpene/ Obot Akara, and Sunday Johnny to represent the people of Onna.

The current chairman of Nsit Atai, Emem Ibanga lost out to Prince Aniefiok Attah, Barr Otobong Bob won for Nsit Ubium State Constituency, Emem Udom to represent Ukanafun.

Also, the current member representing Itu Local Government Area, KufreAbasi Edidem also clinched the ticket for the second time; Mrs Kenim Onofiok to represent Oron/Udung Uko, Dr Itoro Etim for Uruan, Hon Lawrence Udoide for Ini while Uduak Ekpo-Ufot is for Etinan.

Itoro Columba will represent Ikono, Ubong Attah for Ibesikpo Asutan, Pius Bassey for Okobo, Uwem Imo-Ita for Mkpat Enin, Prince Sampson Idiong for Oruk Anam while Precious Selong for Urue Offong/Oruko.

Addressing newsmen shortly after the primaries, two of the candidates for Onna and Nsit Ubium state constituencies, Sunny Johnny and Otobong Bob respectively, commended the delegates for seeing them to success and pledged to ensure victory for PDP at the general elections.

Post a Comment