Enugu PDP primary: Reps Deputy Minority Leader, Okechukwu, Asadu lose return tickets [FULL LIST]


The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, on Sunday conducted its primary elections for the positions of the State House of Assembly and that of the House of Representatives.

Saga Gist reports that some serving lawmakers in the State lost their return tickets.

Notable among them is the Reps Deputy Minority Leader, Rt. Hon. Toby Okechukwu, representing Oji River/Awgu/Aninri. The party’s ticket was won by Anayo Onwuegbu, with Okechukwu condemning and rejecting the process.

Also in Nsukka/Igbo-Eze South Federal Constituency, Rt. Hon. Pat Asadu lost to a former chairman of the PDP, Engr. Vitta Abba. The medical doctor’s loss came amidst opposition to his fifth term bid, especially from the people of Nsukka Local Government Area.

Efforts to reach Asadu from Sunday evening, through Monday morning, on his mobile number have been unsuccessful.

However, Hon. Cornelus Nnaji, Enugu-East/Isi-Uzo Federal Constituency and Hon. Offor Chukwuegbo, Enugu-North/Enugu-South Federal Constituency won their return tickets. Hon. Martin Oke, Igbo-Etiti/Uzo- Uwani and Hon. Simeon Atigwe, Igbo-Eze North/Udenu also won their return tickets.

It was a different scenario in Udi/Ezeagu Federal Constituency where a serving lawmaker, Hon. Dennis Amadi also lost his ticket. It was the Chief of Staff to Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, Hon. Festus Uzor, that had his way. Enugu State Deputy Governor, Mrs. Cecelia Ezeilo also contested for the position.

Some of the results for the House of Assembly include: Udenu LGA, Hon. Solomon Izuchukwu Onah, a serving local government chairman, Igbo Eze North Constituency 2, Hon. Clifford Obe, Igbo Eze North Constituency 1, Hon. Mrs Ngozi Ezeja, Igbo Eze South Constituency, Hon. Vitus Okechi, a serving local government chairman, Igbo-Etiti East, Hon. Ezenta Ezeani, Igbo-Etiti West, Engr. Chukwuebuka Ugwu.

Others are: Nsukka East Constituency, Barr. Christiana Onah, Nsukka West Constituency, Amos Amadi Agbo, Uzo Uwani State Constituency, Hon. Chukwuma Ekweme.

Post a Comment