Fifth alteration: Akwa Ibom Assembly constitutes adhoc committee on constitution review


The Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly has constituted an Ad-hoc Committee to examine the 5th Alteration of Bill 2022 of the 1999 Constitution.

The committee set up during Thursday plenary has Mr Udo Kierian Akpan (Oruk Anam) and Mr. Aniefiok Dennis Akpan (Etinan) as Chairman and Secretary respectively.

The Speaker, Mr Aniekan Bassey, shortly after commissioning the committee, mandated them to have an interface with relevant stakeholders, conduct public hearings and report to the house within three months.

Members of the Committee include Anietie Eka (Uyo), Otobong Bob (Nsit Ibium), Udeme Otong (Abak) and Nse Essien (ONNA) with Barr Bassey Umoren as Clerk.

The Speaker also led members of the House to inspect the ongoing renewal and upgrade of facilities in the Assembly Chambers, which is to be ready soonest.

Post a Comment