NJC seeks appointment of 46 judicial officers ahead of 2023 election litigations


The National Judicial Council, NJC, has recommended the appointment of 46 judicial officers as part of efforts to beef up the bench in preparation for 2023 election litigations.

The successful candidates were presented for NJC consideration by its Interview Committee during its 98th meeting in Abuja.

NJC statement issued by its Director of Information, Mr Soji Oye, on Thursday indicated that the successful applicants are recommended for appointment as Heads of Court and other judicial officers for the Federal and State Judiciaries in Nigeria.

The recommended Heads of Court are Justice Chukwuemeka-Chikeka Theresa Eberechukwu as Chief Judge for Imo State, Hon. Kadi Bahago Yusuf Abubakar Agwai II as Grand Kadi, Sharia Court of Appeal, Nasarawa State; and Hon. Justice Okorie Victor Uchenna as President, Customary Court of Appeal for Imo State.

Three judges were recommended for Benue State and they are Felicia Mnguashima Ikyegh, Omale Gabriel Anebi and Shishi John Mkoholga.

Jigawa has two and includes Auwal Ya’u and Mustapha Bello Adamu while Delta State has three- Diai Christopher Dumebi, Odebale Ekuogbe Baro and Gesikeme-Akebofah Angonumere Mary.

Four candidates, Ladi Agyer Madaki, Longden Danladi Jacob, Elizabeth Ibrahim Angai and Samchi Dasplang Simon were recommended for Plateau State and three for Kebbi State and they include Hassan Shehu Kuwwa, Shamsudeen Jaafar and Maryam Abubakar Kaoje.

The four candidates recommended as Judges for Adamawa State are Ishaku Yakubu Haliru, Felix Daniel Nzarga, Abbas Adamu Hoban and Maxwell Tartius Pukuma.

Similarly, the three for Kogi State are Clement Ohiani Kekere, Hawa Eleojo Yusufu and Isa Jamil Abdullahi while the six for Imo State are Okereke Chinyere Ngozi, Onyekachi Michael Bless Chibueze, Antoinette Chinenye Onyeukwu, Innocent Chidi Ibeawuchi, Alinnor Lotanna Chukwunyere Leo and Nwachukwu Obinna Emmanuel.

One Kadi was recommended for the Sharia Court of Appeal in Plateau and is Yahaya Mohammed Kanam while that of Kebbi is Nasiru Umar Zaggan and the two for Adamawa State are Magaji Chiroma and Ibrahim Barkindo.

The three judges recommended for the FCT Customary Court of Appeal are Yunusa Idris Kutigi, Muhammad Boyi Marafa and Ubom Unwana Sam while the one for Delta State is Akumagba Ete Francis.

Also, two judges recommended for Adamawa Customary of Appeal are Momsisuri Bemare Odo and Evaristus Paul and the three for Kogi State are Comfort Ekwuojo Toluwase, Paul Ade Olupeka and Shaibu Yakubu.

The two for Imo State Customary Court of Appeal are Okafor Emeka Paulinus and Onuegbu Chinemerem Ucheoma.

The statement indicated that recommended candidates would be inaugurated after approval of the NJC recommendations to their respective State Governors and the respective State Houses of Assembly, as the case may be.

Post a Comment