CHAN 2023: Yusuf unveils list of 33 players for Nigeria, Ghana clash


Home-based Super Eagles head coach, Salisu Yusuf has invited 35 players to camp for the 2023 Africa Nations Championship (CHAN) qualifiers against Ghana.

The quartet of Adeyinka Adewale, Ojo Olorunleke, Chiamaka Madu and Sani Faisal who were part of the main Super Eagles squad for the international friendlies in May/June tops the list of invited players for the games.

Nigeria Professional Football League top scorer, Chijoke Akuneto of Rivers United, U-2O international, Nathaniel Nwozu as well as veteran defenders Samson Gbadebo and Tope Olusesi were also included in the squad.

All the invited players are expected to arrive in Abuja on Wednesday.

Ghana will host the first leg at Cape Coast Stadium on Sunday, August 28.

The reverse fixture is billed for the Moshood Abiola Stadium, Abuja on Saturday, September 3.

The winner of the two-legged encounter will earn a berth at the CHAN 2023 to be hosted by Algeria.

The home Eagles failed to qualify for the last edition of the competition hosted by Cameroon.


Goalkeepers: Victor Sochima (Rivers United); Adeyinka Adewale (Akwa United); Ojo Olorunleke (Enyimba FC); Nathaniel Nwosu (Flying Eagles)

Defenders: Tope Olusesi (Rangers Int’l); Kazie Enyinnaya (Rivers United); Sani Faisal (Katsina United); Samson Gbadebo (Akwa United); Ebube Duru (Rivers United); Christopher Nwaeze (Akwa United); Isa Ali (Remo Stars); Tosin Adegbite (Enyimba FC); Temple Emekayi (Rivers United); Andrew Ikefe (Plateau United).

Midfielders: Babatunde Bello (Akwa United); Philip Ozor (Enyimba FC); Maurice Chukwu (Rivers United); Hafeez Nosiru (Kwara United); Zulkifilu Mohammed (Plateau United); Chiamaka Madu (Rivers United); Jide Fatokun (Kwara United); Kenechukwu Agu (Rangers Int’l); Joseph Onoja (Rivers United); Haggai Katoh (Plateau United); Uche Onwuasonaya (Rivers United).

Forwards: Abdulazeez Yusuf (Gombe United); Sadiq Abubakar (Enyimba FC); Chidiebere Nwobodo (Rangers Int’l); Promise Amadi (Akwa United); Chijioke Akuneto (Rivers United); Valentine Odoh (Abia Warriors); Andy Okpe (Remo Stars); Adams Yakubu (Akwa United); Godspower Aniefiok (Kano Pillars); Ossy Martins (Rangers Int’l)

Post a Comment