Flood: Niger communities allege exclusion in distribution of relief materials


Communities in Lavun and Edati local government areas of Niger State have expressed displeasure over neglect in the distribution of relief materials over the years during flood disasters in the state.

The villagers stated this during a meeting with facilitators from the United Nations Children Fund, UNICEF, National Emergency Management Agency, NEMA and the National Orientation Agency, NOA.

The humanitarian groups were in the community to train residents on understanding perspectives to emergency preparedness.

The village head of Lalo, Edati and spokesman for Batako Lavun councils in their separate response during the meeting claimed they have never been captured in the distribution of relief materials.

They, however, described the engagement as the first of its kind in their communities, adding, “We appreciate you for bringing this meeting on flood-prone communities to our doorsteps”

Bashir Abdullahi and Mrs Abiola Ogundare, UNICEF facilitators in the two LGs said UNICEF and partners resolved to engage the flood-prone communities directly to prepare them ahead of natural disasters.

Ogundare said,” The enlightenment is on the need for early preparation for possible relocation to safer and higher grounds, preparation for food, clothing, shelter, healthcare services, water and sanitation, security, nutritional, continue education for the children as well as protection for women, young girls, aged, and support for most vulnerable, poor and physically challenged in the event of flooding”.

Also, in their separate remarks, representatives of NEMA, Turaki Ramatu Muhammad, the NOA desk officer, Samuel Yisa and a volunteer, Amina Abdullahi, said the engagement with the people living along river banks has yielded results and has given UNICEF and partners the opportunity for on the spot feedback from flood victims.

It was further gathered that about 400 compound meetings were simultaneously held with flood-prone communities in 13 local government areas of Edati, Lavun, Katcha, Agaie, Lapai, Gbako, Mokwa, Bosso, Shiroro, Rafi, Mashegu, Wushishi and Borgu.

Post a Comment