FG set 78 priority actions to transform food system


The Federal Government has set 78 priority actions that would transform the food system from farm to table, including waste.

The Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Budget and National Planning, Mr Nebeolisa Anako, disclosed this in a statement issued by the Director of Information, Mrs Folasade Boriowo, on Wednesday in Abuja.

He said that the National Steering Committee on Implementation of the Food Systems Pathway would meet on Thursday in Anambra.

Anako said that for the preparation of stock taking moments, he will come up in Rome on July 24 with a side event on July 26.

He said that all the coordinators of nine states in the six geopolitical zones; namely North East – (Borno), North West – (Kano), North Central (Kwara), South West – (Lagos and Osun), South South – (Akwa Ibom and Edo), South East – (Enugu and Anambra), would attend the meeting to be chaired by him.

Anako said that in the same vein, there would be a retreat of the coordinating directors of zones and members of the steering committee at Uzanu Farm, Edo, from June 25 to 26.

He said that the retreat would discuss the final template to be used for the collation of national reports to be submitted to the United Nations (UN) Food System Coordination Hub by Nigeria.

Anako also said that the national steering committee was inaugurated by the former Minister of State, Budget and National Planning, Prince Clem Agba, on the recommendation of the national convener, Dr Sanjo Faniran.

Post a Comment