Osun Assembly Speaker inaugurates committee to review past laws


The Speaker of the Osun State House of Assembly, Adewale Egbedun, has inaugurated an ad-hoc committee to review laws passed by the 7th Assembly between July and November 2022.

Saga Gist recalls that the Speaker, on June 6, 2023, promised to revisit laws passed by the 7th Assembly after the 2022 gubernatorial election.

According to Egbedun, “The committee is to critically look at the content from the title to all sessions of the law including the schedules and examine the Policy thrust of the Bills as well as make appropriate recommendations for the consideration of the House.”

He announced the formation of the committee at the house’s plenary session on Monday in Osogbo, the state capital.

The affected laws, according to him, are; “University of Ilesa Establishment Law, 2022; Environmental Protection Establishment Law, 2022; Osun State University Teaching Hospital Establishment Law, 2022; Osun Examination Board Establishment Law, 2022; Osun New Town and Development Establishment Law, 2022.”

The Committee will be led by the Deputy Speaker of the House, Akinyode Oyewusi, as Chairman and Rachael Ojimi, Director of Legal, as Secretary.

Other members are Tajudeen Adeyemi, representing Ifelodun State Constituency; Taofiq Olayiwola, representing Ede South State Constituency; Olufemi Popoola, representing Boripe State Constituency; and Oderinwale Akinyemi representing Aiyedire State Constituency.

Post a Comment