APC inaugurates committee to review Kogi guber poll


The All Progressives Congress, (APC) has inaugurated an 11-man committee to review the outcome of the November 11 governorship election in Kogi State.

Speaking during the inauguration at the party Secretariat in Lokoja on Tuesday, the APC Chairman in Kogi State, Abdullahi Bello, said one of terms of reference of the committee is to identify all cases and incidences of anti-party activities by party members and recommend appropriate disciplinary actions.

Bello stated further that the committee is also to review and state clearly the roles and performances of the party members saddled with the conduct of the election before, during and after the exercise.

According to him, the committee is expected to undertake a detailed review of the processes leading up to the election and how the election was executed in each local government of the state.

Bello added that the committee should endeavor to identify party members who displayed acts of unbridled loyalty, commitment, dedication, courage and boldness in the face of hostile political environment during the election and recommend them for adequate recognition and reward.

“Although the election has come and gone, the resultant effects and fallouts are still very much with us. It is a fact that while we performed excellently in many Local Councils, our results in many others fell short of expectation.

“It is instructive to note that the putting together of this committee is novel in the operations of our great party, because this is the first time a committee of this nature is being instituted.

“This time around, we are desirous of knowing what transpired in each of the 21 LGAs before, during and after the conduct of the election of 11 November, 2023,” Bello stated.

Members of the committee are the Speaker, Kogi State House of Assembly, Hon. Aliyu Umar Yusuf (Chairman), Prof. Usman Ogbo, (Secretary), Hon. Funsho Olumoko, Barr. James Fabola, Sen. Atai Aidoko, Hon. Yakubu Okala, Hon. Idris Ozi Shaib, Hon. Abdulsalami Ibrahim Ahovi, Barr. Ladi Jatto, Alh. Hadi Ametuo, and Hon. Abubakar Bashir Gegu

Post a Comment