YPP wins Reps, State Assembly rerun elections in Akwa Ibom


The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC has declared the candidates of the Young Progressives Party, YPP, Emmanuel Ukpong-Udo and Moses Essien, as winners of the rerun elections for House of Representatives and House of Assembly, respectively, in Akwa Ibom State.

Emmanuel Ukpong Udo stood for Ikono/Ini Federal Constituency rerun against his closest rival, Dr Glory Edet of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, while Moses Essien stood for Ibiono Ibom State House of Assembly.

Declaring the results, the Collation Officer for the House of Representatives rerun, Nabie Jude, announced that the YPP candidate polled a total of 24,050 votes to beat closest challenger and candidate of the PDP, Edet, who got 17,232 votes .

“Emmanuel Ukpong-Udo of the YPP having satisfied the requirements of the Law is hereby declared the winner,” the Collation Officer announced.

Meanwhile the cancellation of two units by INEC due to cases of thuggery did not affect Ukpong-Udo who moved to the YPP to pursue his second term bid in the 2023 elections having failed to secure the PDP ticket.

Similarly, Godwin Ayi, Collation Officer, announced Moses Essien, also candidate of YPP, as winner of the Ibiono Ibom State constituency rerun poll held on Saturday

Post a Comment