INEC declares Eno winner of Akwa Ibom governoship election


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Mr Umo Eno of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), as the winner of the Akwa Ibom State governorship election held on March 18.

Prof. Emmanuel Adigio, INEC’s Returning Officer, and Vice Chancellor, Nigerian Maritime University, Delta, announced the results on Sunday.

He said Eno won in 29 out of 31 local government areas of the state to defeat Sen. Bassey Akpan of the Young Progressive Party (YPP).

He said that the PDP candidate scored 354,348 votes, beating his closest rival the Young Progressive Party (YPP), who got 136,262 votes.

He further stated that the All Progressives Congress (APC) scored 129,602 votes, the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) got 12,509 votes while Labour Party (LP) scored 4,746 votes.

Post a Comment