Yobe speaker, Mirwa loses re-election bid to PDP


Reports emanating from Nguru II Constituency in Yobe State indicate that the incumbent Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Ahmed Lawan Mirwa, has lost his re-election bid in the just concluded State Assembly election.

In a keenly contested race, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate Lawan Musa won the battle after polling 6,648 votes to defeat the speaker of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Mirwa, who scored 6,466 votes.

Results of Nguru II Constituency showed votes scored by some political parties that participated in the election are as follows:

1) ADC = 30

2) APC = 6,466

3) APM = 14

4) NNPP = 23

5) PDP = 6,648

More results from other state constituencies are expected later in the day.

Post a Comment