NNPP unseats incumbent APC House of Reps member in Kano


The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared the candidate of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), M.B. Shehu, the winner of the House of Representatives election in Fagge LGA of Kano State.

Returning Officer, Professor Ibrahim Tajo Suraj, announced Shehu as the winner after scoring 19, 024 votes in the supplementary election in the constituency. He was followed by Labour Party candidate, Shuaibu Abubakar, who polled 12, 789 votes, while APC candidate and the incumbent member of the House of Representatives, Aminu Sulaiman Goro, came third with 8, 669 votes.

According to Prof Suraj: “Barrister M.B. Shehu of the NNPP, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes is declared winner of the election.”

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, had earlier cancelled the results of some polling units of the constituency in the previous February 25th election.

Post a Comment