Okuama massacre: Remains of 17 soldiers arrive cemetery


The remains of 17 military personnel killed in Okuama community of Delta State have arrived the National Military Cemetery, Abuja, for burial.

The bodies, which arrived at about 2:26 pm on Wednesday, were conveyed by Military Ambulance Emergency vehicles and Federal Capital Territory, FCT, Ambulance Emergency Services, among others.

Saga Gist reports that President Bola Tinubu is being awaited as top government functionaries and military officers from various formations across the country are on ground to pay their last respects to the fallen heroes.

Distraught family members and relatives of the slain personnel as well as wives of other military officers are also on ground.

Saga Gist recalls that the troops of 181 Amphibious Battalion, Bomadi Local Government Area of Delta State, while on peace mission to Okuoma community, were surrounded and killed by some irate youths.

The incident occurred when the troops responded to a distress call following a communal crisis between the Okuoma and Okoloba communities both in Delta State.

The personnel comprised one Lieutenant Colonel, two Majors, one Captain and 13 soldiers.

The officers are Commanding Officer 181 Amphibious Battalion, Lt. Col. A.H Ali; Maj S.D Shafa (N/13976); Maj D.E Obi (N/14395) and Capt U Zakari (N/16348).

The soldiers are SSgt Yahaya Saidu (#3NA/36/2974); Cpl Yahaya Danbaba (1ONA/65/7274); Cpl Kabiru Bashir (11NA/66/9853); LCpl Bulus Haruna (16NA/TS/5844); LCpl Sola Opeyemi (17NA/760719); and LCpl Bello Anas (17NA/76/290).

They also include LCpl Hamman Peter (NA/T82653); LCpl Ibrahim Abdullahi (18NA/77/1191); Pte Alhaji Isah (17NA/76/6079); Pte Clement Francis (19NA/78/0911); Pte Abubakar Ali (19NA/78/2162); Pte Ibrahim Adamu (19NA/78/6079) and Pte Adamu Ibrahim (21NA/80/4795)

Post a Comment